Quite Behind Schedule

Well I let the month of April slip right past me, and now it’s May. Perhaps I can quickly catch up…

20120508-085140.jpg

I got to meet former University of Alabama football player, Mark Ingram (our only Hesiman winner BTW). It was the celebration dinner for Coach Stallings’ Annual Golf Tournament benefitting Rise. If you know me, then you know I am totally smitten with this man. I have loved him since he was a stand out player for Bama, and I think he’s a great person. I didn’t know he would be in attendance at the dinner, so I was pretty excited to say the least. He was right beside the door as we walked into Chuck’s fish, so my mom and I greeted him first, made polite and quick introductions and began to walk further into the restaurant. Suddenly, I felt wet along my side and I look down and my white and pink dress has red wine covering me. Then I look up and Mark Ingram’s face is like THIS. Mark Ingram just spilled his wine all over me and my brand spanking new dress. He immediately starts apologizing over and over as I try to tell him it’s alright. I was smiling! I thought it was hilarious. Luckily I bought another dress on the same day as I bought the one I was wearing, so I drove home for a quick change. When I came back to the restaurant, Mark (we’re on a first name basis) came over and sat with my mom and me, still apologizing. He was so incredibly nice that I really couldn’t be mad at him. He called me his “beautiful new friend.” SWOON.

20120508-085215.jpg

My cousins and I filmed an episode of “Say Yes to the Dress: Atlanta.” Tamlyn (not pictured) got engaged over Christmas, and ever since then has been talking about how much she wanted to be on the show. I think everyone in my family (including me) thought it was a long shot when she applied to be on the show, but lo and behold she got a call from the casting director and a week or so later we drove to Bridals by Laurie and filmed for an entire day. And… she said YES! Her dress is gorgeous and perfect (and obviously not pictured). The episode shouldn’t air until this fall or winter, but I will be sure to keep everyone updated on that.

20120508-085244.jpg

Look at me and my fancy badge for work. I’ve been at my new job at Randall Reilly for almost two months now, and I’m really enjoying it.

20120508-085311.jpg

Here is the worst part about being from the same town where you go to college: When you graduate, you stay. When all the friends you’ve made graduate, they don’t stay. It’s super sad, but I’m always proud of my friends and how their talents take them to amazing places. I celebrated graduation with a few of my friends from the TCF department of the College of Communications. Afterwards we were hanging out at my place, and we somehow digressed into a stand-up joke off. I will miss all my friends that move forward, but I’m so excited to see what they do.

 

My friend Houston and I took a little mini-vacation to Gulf Shores to celebrate Cinco de Mayo. While sipping on margaritas by the beach, we watched I’ll Have Another win the Kentucky Derby. If a horse named I’ll Have Another winning the Kentucky Derby on Cinco de Mayo isn’t divine irony, then I don’t know what is.

So…how was your month?

Leave a Reply

